Teacher of the Year’ leads Welsh success at Young People’s Oscars

  • Bridgend teacher marks hattrick for Welsh teachers at awards
  • 18-year-old Crickhowell filmmaker wins coveted ‘One to Watch’ spot


The Welsh have won big at this year’s Into Film Awards – dubbed the young people’s Oscars – with Bridgend’s Jemma Evans triumphing in the ‘Teacher of the Year’ category and Crickhowell’s Eden Quine-Taylor winning the coveted ‘One to Watch’ award. 

Education charity Into Film announced the winners at today’s (28 June) star-studded ceremony in London, hosted by broadcaster and comedian Sue Perkins. This is the third time that a Welsh teacher has won the ‘Teacher of the Year’ award, making it a hattrick for Wales – and at a time when all schools will adopt the new curriculum in September. The awards also mark more success for Eden, the young 18-year-old filmmaker, who previously won ‘Best Film’ in 2020.

2022 Welsh Winners


Teacher of the Year – Sponsored by Working Title Films

Jemma Evans – Penybont Primary School – Bridgend, Wales 


Ones to Watch – in partnership with BFI Film Academy

Eden Quine-Taylor (18) – Crickhowell, Wales

Three phenomenal young people who have already achieved an incredible amount in the world of film were nominated as we believe they all have the potential to do greater things in the industry. Each nominee will receive industry mentoring and the overall winner, an additional prize of £1000.

Minister for Education and Welsh Language, Jeremy Miles, sent a special message of congratulations to the two winners: “Well done to Jemma for throwing a spotlight on the quality of Welsh teachers at this year’s Into Film Awards. Jemma and Penybont Primary demonstrate very clearly the benefits of using film in the classroom, which is now integral to the new curriculum and vital in increasing pupils’ digital literacy, literacy and numeracy. I’m looking forward to seeing how other schools and teachers can emulate Jemma’s success in their implementation of the new curriculum.

“I am also thrilled that Eden has been recognised by these national awards. Supporting and developing the talent of our young learners is a key priority for us, and I hope this gives her much impetus to continue making films and growing her skills in this area.”

The exceptional teacher and impressive young filmmaker travelled to London to walk the red carpet on Tuesday. Welsh actors Rhys Ifans and Matthew Rhys took time out of their busy schedules to film messages of support on social media: Rhys congratulated Jemma on using film “so inspirationally in the classroom” and Matthew described Eden as “amazingly talented”.

Jemma Evans, Teacher of the Year, said: “I’m so happy to have won Teacher of the Year and to make it a hattrick for Wales! Now that film plays a really important role in the new Curriculum for Wales, this recognition for myself and Penybont Primary is really important in getting the message across to other teachers and schools that film can really make a huge difference to children’s academic attainment.

“My love of film began in the 80s – with my Dad regularly taking me to the video shop to rent movies and family trips to our local cinema. I truly believe in the power of cinema. Watching films can not only serve as a brief distraction from day-to-day life but also lets me develop new perspectives on life. I climbed Kilimanjaro to raise money for Tenovus Cancer Care and filmed the whole endeavour on my GoPro. Film is a precious way of recording memories and telling your own story. I can’t wait to get back into the classroom to continue to help my pupils grow, learn and have the confidence to tell their own stories so that others can hear them.”

One to Watch Eden Quine-Taylor said: “It’s thrilling to have won the ‘Ones to Watch’ category at the Into Film Awards. I hope to see myself in the future with a film production company and creating feature films that all audiences can resonate with. I hope that in the future I’d be able to take on the role of director and director of photography on self-written scripts, screenplays, and adaptations from novels, as well as being heavily involved in the process of editing. Thank you Into Film for the opportunity and I can’t wait to get started with the mentoring.”

Non Stevens, Head of Into Film Cymru, said: “I’m so proud of Jemma for winning the prestigious Teacher of the Year Award, and for giving us a hattrick for Welsh teachers! Huge congratulations to her! We’ve got such great teachers here in Wales – with Swansea’s Timm Dadds winning in 2020 and Pontyclun’s Rhys Roberts in 2019. Engaged and passionate teachers are our secret weapon in successfully implementing the new curriculum.

“Congratulations to Eden as well. She’s already a fantastic filmmaker and is destined for even greater things. Again, she follows in the footsteps of another Welsh winner, Hedydd Ioan, who was there today in London as a former ‘Ones to Watch’ award winner. Creative Wales and BAFTA Cymru need to remember the name Eden Quine Taylor, because she’s here for the long haul.”

From incredible Into Film Clubs, educators and young review writers to a host of remarkable films submitted across six filmmaking categories, the Into Film Awards celebrates the best the UK has to offer in filmmaking and the use of film in education.

The Into Film Awards are made possible with support from the film industry through sponsorship and supported by the BFI using National Lottery funding, thanks to National Lottery players and the UK film industry through Cinema First. The National Lottery raises £36 million each week for good causes across the UK.

The ceremony featured celebrity presenters including Lashana Lynch, Eddie Redmayne, Tom Ellis, Joanne Froggatt, Stacey Dooley, Michael Ajao, Anson Boon, Emma Appleton, Ben Shires, Sebastian Croft, Sheyi Cole, Thaddea Graham, Lola Petticrew, and Samuel Adewunmi.